Home > Development, Mobile > GART, the Geo Augmented Reality Toolkit

GART, the Geo Augmented Reality Toolkit

I just realized that I linked to GART in my previous blog post but never talked about it here. I’ve gotten so used to doing quick tweets on the run that I’ve forgotten to come back and do some real blogging. Must improve.

 

Anyway, from the GART Homepage here’s a description:

 

GART was created to help people quickly and easily build Augmented Reality applications for Windows Phone.

This kit is different from other AR kits in that it enables what we call “Geo AR”. Where other toolkits place virtual things on top of specially printed tags, this toolkit places information on top of real places in the world around you. It does this by tracking where you are and the direction you’re facing.

Geo AR apps are easy to write because all you need to provide is a collection of objects that have Latitudes and Longitudes. These can come from anywhere, for example a Bing restaurant search, a Flickr photo search or a Wikipedia article search. The framework then takes care of managing sensors and tracking where the user is in relation to the reference points. It can show where the points are in relation to user from a top-down perspective (on a map) or it can show where the points are as a virtual lens into the real world.

 

Visit the GART page for more information, videos and documentation on how to get started with the kit.

  1. Luis Sandoval
    July 3, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Hello I have issues with GART I need that my user can see de icons for places all time independently the distance, so what can I do that? i have the coordinates of the place that I want to show i don’t know how can I find a relation between that coordinate, my position and distance can you help me?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

